Still Trying to Quit Drinking?

Sammy B.
2 min readNov 23, 2021

Jealous of the wrong people?

Jeshoots.com

I’ve been there. In the throes of alcohol addiction and trying a million times to leave it behind.

There wasn’t one “trick” that worked for me. There wasn’t one meeting, or book, or podcast, or therapy appointment that suddenly set me on track once and for all.

It was a combination of many of those things over time.

But I can tell you one thing that made me realize I had clearly hit some kind of turning point.

You know how you or others who want to quit drinking keep saying things like, “I wish I could be like people who can just have one drink.”

“Problem drinkers” envy them.

I remember going to the airport during one of my stretches of sobriety. I remember noticing all the people who were at the bar, enjoying their pre-flight drink, seeming all happy and relaxed.

I thought it must be nice to be like them. Just enjoying it, or maybe living a life where they weren’t enslaved by drinking. At least, one imagines.

Yeah, must be nice.

But then you know who the hell else I noticed? Allllll of the other people in the airport who weren’t drinking at all! And there were wayyy more of them.

--

--

Sammy B.

Humorist with a little splash of cynicism. Advocate for those struggling with addiction or in recovery.